Anyone cook along with me last week? Those fajitas were super yummy….but side note, I knew poblanos aren’t considered one of the spicier peppers so I didn’t take precautions when dealing with them (like I would for something like a jalapeno). Anyway, after I roasted the peppers I was reading my book and absentmindedly scratched my eye….oh the searing pain. I was pretty sure I was going to have to go to the ER. I googled how to relieve the pain (with my good eye open) in the hopes that I could save my eye and decided to try using milk. It was my first instinct anyway since that solves the problem for ingesting hot peppers. I took a kid glass, held it to my eye, and washed it out with milk. Five times. After about an hour of tears, I could see again….I’ve learned my lesson. Maybe I should stick to bell peppers :/

This past Saturday I offered to hubby that we could just pick up a pizza after church for something quick and easy. He usually jumps at the chance to eat out, especially something not particularly healthy. He passed!! Haha…I offered to make some pesto with chicken, salad, garlic bread…he said that sounded delicious. So I whipped up a quick pesto (using toasted walnuts, spinach, garlic, lemon zest, lemon juice, olive oil, and parmesan), threw it together with some rotini and roasted chicken breast, quick Caesar salad and some garlic bread….super yummy! I will have to post the pesto recipe in the near future.

Here is what we are eating this week!

Monday: Steak Sandwiches with Balsamic Vegetables, thanks to some leftover steak from Thursday and really yummy plum tomatoes in my produce box. We’ll have a salad to go along with.

Tuesday: Pork Chops with Onion Gravy over Egg Noodles, roasted green beans on the side (Hubby request. I ask him every week what we should eat, this is the first time he answered. Maybe I’ll post the recipe one day, it’s probably his favorite meal)

Wednesday: Spinach and Cheese Calzones (Recipe from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day), salad <—meatless!

Thursday: Honey Lime Tilapia with quinoa and broccoli <—cooks so quickly, so good for when we are tired after soccer practice

Friday: Lamb Meatballs with Toasted Orzo, subbing swiss chard we got in our produce box for the spinach

I’m going to leave the weekend open for now since I think there will be some gatherings to attend. I’m hoping to make a cheesecake for one since I’ve been craving it like mad…

What are you eating this week? Does anyone have a family member that would prefer McD’s to anything homemade?

 

