A little over a year ago, a good friend asked if I would make a liner and bag for her new stroller, and since I always love a sewing challenge, I took it on.

stroller bag

the snaps are a great idea!

stroller liner

minky is soooo soft!

 

Inspiration for the bag come from this great tutorial at Make It and Love It for a Two-in-One stroller bag. The bag snaps onto the stroller, but there is a long strap to convert it into a messenger bag, too. Plus, that strap doubles as a handle for older children when you’re out and about. The stroller liner reverses to green robot fabric if you’re not having a minky loving day, or I suppose if it’s messy and it needs to be turned over before you can wash it. I thought some strap covers that easily snap on and off were a must have, too. I think they might be reversible, too. I mostly made up everything as I went but was pretty happy with how it turned out.

Fast forward to now….that friend let another friend borrow her stroller, and the other mom just needed a stroller bag, too! So here’s what I came up with for her:

IMG_0682

IMG_0677

Love the skulls!

IMG_0678

great idea! the more zippers and pockets and hooks, the better.

She requested a basic black bag, so I used some black twill for the outside. I added a zippered welt pocket to the front flap for some easy to access storage, and I went with snaps to close it since I hate Velcro.

The inside has a fun Dia de los Muertos print for some added awesome, and I also included some pockets on the inside to keep her organized. I thought a key clip would be a nice touch, too, since I’m always losing my keys in my purse.

IMG_0680

I maintained the convertible factor of the tutorial, since that’s really what makes this bag what it is.

IMG_0684

IMG_0685

Sweet! It doesn’t even look like a diaper bag really.

 

And there you have it!! Hope she likes it!

How do you keep yourself organized when you are out with kids and a stroller? Does your stroller basket look like a giant dumping ground like mine?

