All of these back to school sales create such mixed emotions….Drea and I used to LOVE roaming the aisles of office supply stores, picking out new sharpies and post its and seeing what else is out there (who are we kidding, we still do).  But as any teacher can tell you, there is also the bundle of nerves that comes with starting a new year….what will my class(es) be like?  What will the FIRST DAY be like?!  Even though I’m only going back to teach a couple nights a week, the same emotions are there.  That sense of loss you feel for your freedom…but with school starting, that means the fall season will soon be upon us.  No more mega hot weather….lots of holidays…then you start feeling like time is just flying by and your babies are growing up too quickly and then you cry a little.

And that’s what happens when I see a sale on crayons.  That’s normal, right?

Meal planning is still easy this week, but in a short while we are back to me working some nights and things become a little more difficult.  I’m enjoying it while it lasts 🙂

Monday:  Honey Lime Tilapia with herbed Israeli couscous

Tuesday:  Yogurt Marinated Lamb Kebabs with Lemon Butter over brown basmati rice with broccoli  (we just bought a lamb for the freezer!!)

Wednesday:  Ground Beef Enchiladas (I’ll sub in whole food ingredients, like make my own enchilada sauce), salad

Thursday:  Spaghetti in Garlic Gravy with Herbs, Lemon Marinated Chicken, and Cherry Tomatoes, homemade focaccia, salad

Friday:  Roast pork with quinoa mac and cheese

Saturday:  Subs and a bike ride

 

Sunday is my flex day as always….yesterday I made a pizza out of leftovers we had (some pesto, some chicken, cheese, tomatoes).  Pizzas come together so quickly it’s a great fast meal.  I think I can do the recipes from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day in my sleep now.

What are you having?  Any sobbing over pencils and staplers?

