Have you ever found a pattern company, saw the options, and then immediately decide that you need to sew all of them in a day?

img_4374

I recently discovered Misusu and after making one pattern….I need them all. The patterns are so fresh and modern, and the directions are amazing. There’s a flow chart on the Piper top that makes my heart flutter.

I was invited to talk about some of the free patterns available…and most designers have a couple free patterns, sure. They are usually something fairly basic to give you an idea of what to expect before you buy….but these can easily get you a full kid’s wardrobe and I didn’t even include all the options.

img_4067

First sew was the Olli Lined Pants for baby girl. I went with a lightweight denim chambray lined with cotton lycra, and included lots of gold topstitching. I went with just one pocket because baby girl doesn’t really store much in her pockets these days. I love the gusset to give a bit more space for her diaper bum and the finises made me feel like a sewing rockstar.

img_4283

I went ahead and made the unlined Summer Olli shorts for the youngest boy next. They are drafted for wovens, but I used some plush back sweatshirting instead. The seamlines on these make them absolutely perfect for a little guy who cannot.keep.still. I left out the side pockets because the fabric was on the thick side already and also I am a little nervous about checking his pockets these days (frogs and nerf darts oh my….).

img_4078

Did I mention those patterns are free?!

On to make tops for both. For the little guy, I went with the Rowan tee (FREE too, and recently updated). I didn’t have enough of the whales so I colorblocked with some viscose stripe. I just chose a spot on the pattern (the pocket line actually) and made sure I added seam allowance to both pieces, cutting at the same spot on front and back.  The Origami Boat was a perfect little detail to add on – I included it at the pocket line marking. It helps him get dressed, too as the boat goes in the front! Oh, and boat pattern? Free, too.

img_4075

Baby girl needed a top too, and the Dia sweater had me at first sight. I decided to make it into a top instead of sweater by cutting the sleeves and banding them (I measured around baby girl’s biceps to figure out how tight to make the band). This is all lightweight cotton lycra. I love the little puff sleeves and the button collar option.

And then….of course…the older girl always has all the homemade clothes and the Doris Skirt needed to happen. I love how fun and different it is than other skirts out there. I made it from the same sweat as the boy’s shorts, and added in the cotton lycra I used for baby girl’s pants and sweater. For a top, I used the Piper tank that just released with the petal back.

To add some detail, I added the Flower Applique (another free pattern!!). It is for felt flowers, but I’m a rebel and just used knit scraps from the fabrics I was using. I wanted it to be subtle since there’s already a lot going on with this outfit.

Better yet? Not enough free patterns? Elles is giving away one Misusu pattern to one of my amazing IG followers…so click on over to the post for details to enter – instagram.com/derivingmommyhood. And go ahead and like Misusu for more info on the Freekin’ Sewing challenge.

….I’m literally obsessed with all of these looks. Can you tell?

Fabrics used: print cotton lycra from Jumping June Textiles (Basket of Wheat is Bloom Copenhagen and whales are Elvelyckan), ribbing from Jumping June Textiles, Sweat from Metre Rabbit UK, stripe viscose jersey from Dress Fabrics, marl cotton lycra solids from Mibs Fabrics UK