voting is here!!

I cannot believe it’s really here….after so many sew along shares, I’m actually COMPETING in Project Run+Play!! Week 1’s theme is Lovely Layers, which is absolutely perfect since fall here in Ireland came very suddenly it seems, and layers are currently a must.

I started off with C’s look, with the plaid as my inspiration as it just seems so fall right now. It is a rayon blend that I orignally bought for myself from Joanns a few years ago. I knew it needed to be a button down shirt dress, channeling flannels from years past. I started with the Sew a Little Seam Birch shirt for the basic shape, making it loose and dress length with a swing/a line skirt. I also made gathered cap sleeves that gather in at the wrist and billow out, as it’s currently my daughter’s absolute-favourite-sleeve-ever-that-needs-to-be-on-everything. I did pearl snaps for a little bling as well.

Under it, I made a basic fitted New Horizons Designs Key West Tank from white cotton lycra, adding vinyl on the front and down the back (she’s a HUGE Greatest Showman fan) because every loose flowy button down needs a fitted tank, right?

And every dress here always gets leggings, so I started with Rocky Shore Tights from Sofiona Designs out of my new favourite legging fabric (knit stretch denim from FabricRomance.ie). I made them higher waist and used the Tamarack Tights waistband, and also added functional metal zippers at the bottom (thanks, Minerva!) .

Next, instead of a jacket or coat I went with a gillette from this leather/fur fabric I’ve hoarded for way too long (also Joanns). I started with the Tanacross from New Horizons Designs, shortening the collar piece as well as the overall length and binding the front and armholes with leather bias from Minerva-gotta love a mitred corner! I used flat fell seams throughout on account of the fur shedding. I left off the sleeves obviously, and also left out the button as I liked it more as a cascading open front look, and she can belt it in if she chooses.

When she tried it all on, I decided it needed a belt to pull it all together, so I cut up a purse strap, added some snaps, d-ring and chain (the chain keeps the d-ring from falling off while also allowing it to be adjustable) to cinch it all in.

I love that she can wear the dress on it’s own, or as a duster cardi. And she can wear this look without the dress and it still rocks. Lots of options with some basic pieces.

Little sis could not be left out, so I started with a (self drafted) layered skirt for her from some poly cotton spandex from So Sew English. I made the layers assymetrical to give it a little more edge, and then decided it should just be a dress so added a basic bodice and long sleeves, using the Patterns for Pirates Boundless as inspiration with a few small neckline tweaks.

For her leggings, I layered double galloon lace over cotton lycra, using Rocky Shore tights from Sofiona Designs again for the basic shape. I made them more of a capri length to highlight the lace edge above her boots, hemming the lining above where the lace ends.

Next, she needed a cardigan that was a little sweet and sassy like her, so I started with the New Horizons Vermont Cardigan out of some mint cotton lycra (and altered it so it was assymetrical, as well as slashed and spread the top to have it gather (thanks, Pinterest for the inspiration on that one). I did lots of snaps so her look could be a little bit metal too.

Last, she got a beanie from brushed back sweat lined in cotton lycra (from Dress Fabrics and Quilt Yarn Stitch, respectively) with a fur pom on top. I used the Patterns for Pirates slouchy beanie as a launching point there, lining it, altering the shape ever so slightly and leaving off the bottom band.

I really love how it all came together, both girls look a little sweet and a little edgy and are snuggly warm for the cool weather 🙂

VOTE HERE!!